Chasing Wonder Woman

Chasing Wonder Woman

A Quick Disclaimer. This is not a Review. Rather than my journey in Chasing Wonder Woman.

June 01, 2017

5AM

A day removed from a pretty forgettable yesterday. I had something to look forward to. I aim to bounce back from yesterday’s mishaps and had Wonder Woman to watch.

The morning started great. I beat my 5:15AM alarm and I have 15 minutes to spare. It always feels great to wake up with a full sleep. I quickly browsed the web for High Street’s Wonder Woman schedule, but alas. None were available yet.

I proceeded to ready myself to work and was done by 5:30am. I picked up an Uber, and my bill was P20 lower than the estimate. The day was starting great.

12NN

I casually walked to High Street to buy myself a ticket. There were two choices, a 4pm P300 showing or a 4:20pm P500 3D/4DX. I went with the latter to give myself leeway. On the way back, I met a lady heading to my building and as uncomfortable I am with elevator talk, it was nice talking to her.

4PM

Workhours ended. Though not without some errors, I felt much better ending the day.

As I rode the elevator down, and the door closes, I realized I forgot to do something. I forgot to Time-out!

The wait going down and up and down again was terrible and it was already 4:15 by the time I was back down.

4:16PM

I was in my jeans when I started to run to High Street. As my earlier walk took me 10mins, I knew I was screwed.

4:21PM

I wanted to have bought drinks before going in the cinema, but the queue at Happy Lemon was insane. Seven cups more. I decided to forego the drink and rush to my seat.

Fortunately, if there’s one thing I can count on Filipinos, it is tardiness. Nico Antonio’s piracy in jail thing had just started so I know I had minutes to spare.

WONDER WOMAN SUCCESSFULLY CHASED.

Was it worth it? Hell yeah it was! Wonder Woman is indubitably the best DC movie in this Universe, maybe even all of DC? I can only think of Dark Knight as an equal, yeah I went there! What made this movie seem perfect to me was the amazing story telling. It does not rely on OMG Look Look type of moments, rather, it relies on telling a good story all throughout.

Growing up , I had a tendency to root for the heels (bad guys), though this movie did not have a bad bad guy (Remus Lupin was fantastic BT Dubs), I rooted for Wonder Woman to beat him, and it was such a refreshing change (For me, at least).

It was such a feel good movie, I decided to jog/walk home rather than commute.

For all Superhero fans out there, this is a movie not to be missed. Hell, I’m even confident enough to say that this movie will be enjoyed by even non superhero fans.

Leave a Reply

